MINUTES MUNICIPAL DISTRICT OF PINCHER CREEK NO. 9 ORGANIZATIONAL COUNCIL MEETING OCTOBER 27, 2020

The Organizational Meeting of Council of the Municipal District of Pincher Creek No. 9 was held on Tuesday, October 27, 2020, at 1:42 pm, in the Council Chambers of the Municipal District Administration Building, Pincher Creek, Alberta.

PRESENT Reeve Brian Hammond, Councillors Rick Lemire, Quentin Stevick, Bev Everts, and Terry Yagos

STAFF CAO Troy MacCulloch, Director of Development and Community Services Roland Milligan, Director of Operations Aaron Benson, Director of Finance Meghan Dobie, and Executive Assistant Jessica McClelland

A. CALL TO ORDER

CAO Troy MacCulloch called the Council Meeting to order, the time being 1:42 pm.

B. ELECTION OF REEVE

CAO Troy MacCulloch asked each Councillor if they were willing to let their name stand for the position of Reeve,

- Councillor Brian Hammond indicated he would let his name stand for the position of Reeve.
- Councillor Quentin Stevick nominated Councillor Terry Yagos for the position of Reeve.
- Councillor Terry Yagos agreed to let his name stand for the position of Reeve. Administration administered ballots, following counting of ballots CAO Troy MacCulloch declared Councillor Brian Hammond was elected as Reeve.

C. ELECTION OF DEPUTY REEVE

CAO Troy MacCulloch asked each Councillor if they were willing to let their name stand for the position of Deputy Reeve.

 Councillor Rick Lemire indicated he would let his name stand for the position of Deputy Reeve.

CAO Troy MacCulloch asked for other nominations three times. No other nominations were received; Councillor Rick Lemire, by acclimation, was declared Deputy Reeve.

Reeve Brian Hammond assumed the chair.

D. REVIEW OF CODE OF CONDUCT/VISION AND MISSION STATEMENT

Code of Conduct and the Vision and Mission statement were discussed. All of Council confirmed the Code of Conduct.

E. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Councillor Terry Yagos

20/371

Moved that the Organizational Agenda of October 27, 2020 be amended, the amendment as follows:

- o Remove J1) Subdivision and Development Appeal Board
- o Addition to two (2) members at large for item J6) Airport Committee

And that the agenda be approved, as amended.

Carried

F. APPOINTMENT OF SIGNING AUTHORITIES

Councillor Bev Everts

20/372

Moved that Reeve Brian Hammond, or Deputy Reeve Rick Lemire, and the CAO, or the Director of Finance, are authorized to have signing authority for general cheques of the Municipal District of Pincher Creek No. 9;

Carried

G. APPOINTMENT OF AUDITORS

Councillor Rick Lemire

20/373

Moved that Avail LLP be appointed as the Municipal District of Pincher Creek No. 9 Auditors for 2021.

Carried

H. MEETING TIMES AND DATES

Councillor Quentin Stevick

20/374

Moved that, unless altered by resolution:

- Subdivision Authority Meetings be held the first Tuesday of each month, starting at 6:00 pm
- Municipal Planning Commission Meetings be held the first Tuesday of each month, starting at 6:30 pm
- Council Committee Meetings be held the second and fourth Tuesday of each month, starting at 9:00 am
- Council Meetings be held the second and fourth Tuesday of each month, starting at 1:00 pm

Carried

All of Council are sitting members of the following Committees, Boards and Commissions. A resolution is not required to appoint Council members.

- RMA (Rural Municipalities of Alberta)
- Foothills Little Bow
- Joint Town and MD Council Meetings
- Joint Cowley and MD Council Meetings
- Joint Crowsnest Pass and MD Council Meetings
- Joint Funding Meetings
- Municipal Planning Commission
- Regional Council Meetings
- Subdivision Authority

I. APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES

Councillor Terry Yagos

20/375

Moved the following appointments be made to committees:

(1) Agricultural Service Board

Councillor Bev Everts as Member Councillor Quentin Stevick as Member Councillor Terry Yagos as Alternate

(2) Oldman River Regional Services Commission - ORRSC

Councillor Bev Everts as Member Councillor Quentin Stevick as Alternate

(3) Pincher Creek Foundation

Reeve Brian Hammond as Member Councillor Rick Lemire as Member Councillor Bey Everts as Alternate

(4) Pincher Creek Emergency Services Commission (Fire and Ambulance)

Reeve Brian Hammond as Member Councillor Quentin Stevick as Member Councillor Terry Yagos as Alternate

(5) Pincher Creek Joint Emergency Management Committee

Councillor Rick Lemire as Member Councillor Terry Yagos as Member Councillor Bev Everts as Alternate

(6) FCSS (Family and Community Support Services)

Councillor Bev Everts as Member Councillor Rick Lemire as Alternate

(7) Pincher Creek Library Board/ Chinook Arch Regional Library Board

Councillor Bev Everts as Member Councillor Rick Lemire as Alternate

(8) Alberta Southwest Regional Alliance

Councillors Rick Lemire, Bev Everts, and Terry Yagos share the appointment to the Alberta Southwest Regional Alliance, and are scheduled to attend the meetings on a rotating basis for the upcoming year.

(9) Crowsnest Pincher Creek Landfill Association

Reeve Brian Hammond as Member Councillor Terry Yagos as Alternate

(10) Intermunicipal Development Committee

Councillor Quentin Stevick as Member Councillor Terry Yagos as Member Councillor Bev Everts as Alternate

(11) Recycling Management and Solid Waste Committee

Reeve Brian Hammond as Member Councillor Rick Lemire as Alternate

(12) Community Association Committees (Castle Mountain, Beaver Mines, Lundbreck)

Councillor Bev Everts - Castle Mountain Community Association; Councillor Bev Everts - Beaver Mines Community Association.

Councillor Terry Yagos - Lundbreck Citizens Council.

(13) Facilities Committee

Councillor Rick Lemire as Member Councillor Terry Yagos as Alternate

(14) Airport Committee

Councillor Rick Lemire as Member Councillor Quentin Stevick as Member Councillor Terry Yagos as Alternate

(15) Economic Development Committee

Councillor Rick Lemire as Member

(16) Transportation Committee

Councillor Rick Lemire

(17) Agricultural Appeal Board

Reeve Brian Hammond as Member Councillor Rick Lemire as Member Councillor Terry Yagos as Member

(18) Intermunicipal Collaborative Framework Committee with the Town of Pincher Creek

Councillor Rick Lemire as Member Councillor Bev Everts as Member Reeve Brian Hammond as Alternate

(19) Housing Committee

Reeve Brian Hammond as Member Councillor Bev Everts as Member

(20) Ad Hoc Joint Council Grant Funding Process Review Committee

Reeve Brian Hammond as Member Councillor Terry Yagos as Member

(21) Regional Emergency Management Organization

Councillor Terry Yagos as Member Councillor Rick Lemire as Member Councillor Bev Everts as Alternate

J. COUNCIL APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND BOARDS

**will be determined by Council once advertising to fill select committees as needed.

K. ADJOURNMENT

Councillor Rick Lemire

20/376

Moved that Council adjourn the Organizational Meeting, the time being 1:42 pm.

REEVE

CHIEF ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICER